Our story

The Institute of Actuaries in Belgium - or in short: IA|BE - is a membership organization in support of the actuarial community in Belgium. Its purpose as laid down in its Bylaws is to defend the professional interest of its members and of the actuarial profession in Belgium.

IA|BE offers permanent education opportunities to its members and represents the actuarial profession towards professional and academic constituencies inside and outside Belgium.

It has over 1,100 members, all of them with an academic degree in actuarial sciences.

Members who fulfill the Continuous Professional Development requirements and have three years or more of relevant professional experience, qualify to become IA|BE Qualified Actuary. IA|BE Qualified Actuaries commit to further develop their professional competence through the CPD Programme and take at least once every three years a test on the IA|BE Professional Code of Conduct

For the CPD Prgramme, IA|BE relies on its members, the actuarial departments of the Belgian universities, the employers of its members and other instances to offer relevant training and development opportunities.

IA|BE was created in 1895 as the Association Royale des Actuaires Belges / Konininklijke Vereniging van Belgische Actuarissen; in 2020, IA|BE will celebrate its 125 year of activity.

IA|BE is a Full Member of the Actuarial Association of Europe (AAE) and of the International Actuarial Association (IAA).

32 different national associations of actuaries are Full Member of the AAE, and it has 4 Observer Members. More info on 

74 different national associations of actuaries are Full Member of the IAA, across the world, and it has 25 associate member associations. More info on 

ARAB-KVBA and IA|BE Chairpersons through history

  • Henri ADAN (1895-1901)
  • Omer LEPREUX (1901-1911)
  • Amédée BEGAULT (1911-1937)
  • Léon FRANCOIS (1937-1950)
  • Henri VERMEULEN (1950-1952)
  • Jean H. BAPTIST (1952-1954)
  • Henri MAURICE (1954-1956)
  • Edouard FRANCKX (1956-1960)
  • Jacques DE MOOR (1960-1964)
  • Robert ROYER (1964-1968)
  • Roger VLIEBERGH (1968-1972)
  • Paul THYRION (1972-1976)
  • Henri RIJKERS (1976-1978)
  • Hubert BEFAHY (1978-1982)
  • Charles DELEERS (1982-1986)
  • Marc GOOVAERTS (1986-1990)
  • Daniel DEROECK (1990-1994)
  • Valère CROES (1994-1996)
  • Christian DEFRANCQ (1996-1999)
  • Jean-Michel KUPPER (1999-2003)
  • Karel GOOSSENS (2003-2007)
  • Jean-Claude DEBUSSCHE (2007-2011)
  • Heidi DELOBELLE  (2011-2015)
  • Jean-François HANNOSSET (2015-2019)
  • Erik VAN CAMP (2019-2022)
  • Fabian DE BILDERLING (2022 - )